Harry Potter and The Cursed Child Part 1&2 by John Tiffany & Jack Thorne Book Review

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Hey guys! welcome back another book review coming at you! This may be the shortest book review I’ve ever done simply because I don’t think there’s much to say, there isn’t much character development, given that most of these characters we’ve been exposed to before (for years at that). Another reason would be that it’s a completely different arc from the original series and storyline. A plus for anyone behind on their Goodreads Reading Challenge it’s a fast read.

There is some good, bad and in between for the story and plot in itself but I was still grateful for the trip down memory lane. I know a lot of people gave this book/script a bad rep but honestly I think thats a bit over rated. Yes I’ll admit not everything was explained.

What I think some persons missed about this book was that there was a time limit since it’s a play, so obviously everything can’t be explained thoroughly in detailed like a normal Harry Potter book and frankly it is a SCRIPT. You can’t have the same expectations. Funny enough, this is literally the kind of crazy adventure and mischief I imagined the Marauders would have gotten into in their days at Hogwarts.

I think that if you are a fan of Harry Potter series you might enjoy it, just don’t take the opinion of everyone online who says it sucks because every’s experience and expectations of this story was different. I’ll admit I was super excited for it when I first got the book, then I waited after a while so I could give a good opinion without all the hyper around the book. Once I finished it, it was honestly the most satisfying feeling that I’ve been missing after I finished Six of Crows recently.
There was this sweet feeling of nostalgia and seeing all the characters that we all loved; one last time, Cedric, Dumbledore…kind of…and of course Snape!!! I read this book around the anniversary of Alan Rickman’s death so for me just the mentions of Snape in the story moved me a bit more. I was going to give this book a solid 3.5 I knew that before finishing it but by the end the very feeling I had finishing this book along with the book in it’s entirety it’s something I would actually read over and that’s not something I with every book. Also given the fact that this is the 2nd “script book” that I’ve read and so I had to compare them.

I had to take into consideration that I can’t rate this as a normal book. That said, I wish there were more thing that happened or explained. Other than that, there are things that I think could have been improved but essentially this is what we’ve wanted; a glimpse into how the after story would be like. I do wish that we saw more of Lily, James and Rose but hey, I guess it’s something we just have to live with.

As always I’m encouraging you guys to check the book out for yourself if you’re really interested but hesitant, I think you should try a sample of it and see how it goes it doesn’t help to try! But honestly, it wasn’t exactly what I expected for where some of the characters would be in their lives at that point but I’m glad the writers got the essence of these characters to the best of their ability because the some of the comments alone. PRICELESS.

 

The book can be bought; on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Book – A -Million and most places where books and e-books are sold.

Till next time loves xoxo

*DISCLAIMER* I did purchase this book with my own money for my personal library.

Leave a Reply

