Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard Book Review

 

Rating: 3.5/5 stars                caba3f710c963a81a60877ab3c89a763

In the second book of the Red Queen series, written by Victoria Aveyard, we continue our journey from were we left off in the first book. We re-join Mare, Cal, Farley and Shade; who we found out near the end of the first book is still alive. In the first few chapters,we see our heroes and heroines seeking refuge in a military air base, inhabited by the members of the Scarlet Guard and other refugees of Norta.

Unfortunately, this book took me way too long to really get into it. Another book that has fallen victim to the “second book slump”. Now, that’s a phrase I would use to describe the plateau effect that take place during the events of a second book in a series. I LOVED!!! the first book but the second for me just did’t even begin to compare to the first book. I wouldn’t sugar coat a thing because at the end of the day this is my own opinion on the book and maybe you will enjoy it more than I did.

My advice for anyone reading this book is please do not put this book down for anything. The moment you do, you’ll slowly be less interested. You’re going to want to finish this book because the last few chapters are filled with a few shock worthy moments. Regardless of my rating for this book, I’m really excited for King’s Cage.

The moment I finally get into this book, Victoria is feeling like she’s John Green up in here and decides to kill characters. Why?! Just…why?!?

Now, it turns out that Farley, is only one of the many heads in charge of the Scarlet Guard. Mare’s family are some of the many refugees in the camp. Upon arriving at the base, Mare is greeted by her older brothers who have come to collect her and the others to be handed over to The Colonel, Farley’s father (who also has control over Lakeland soldiers). Clearly they’re a stronger force than we all thought

Even though she is reunited with her family, Mare is still being careful of who she trusts, even her own family. That being said she is also stricken with guilt over everything they’ve endured that she feels is her fault.

The Guard has plans for her and Cal, which maybe a worse fate than facing Maven. Combined with the thought of the many new bloods out there waiting to be slaughtered by King Maven and his vindictive mother Elara. 

It’s not long until Mare and the others get back to living on the run hurrying to find all the newbloods of Norta begins! Training each of these new bloods in their amazing unique abilities. Unfortunately for them, Maven is always three steps ahead. Oh joy!

We know by now that anyone can betray anyone but now Mare learns that even our own hearts can betray us, just as much as people. With that said, I think it’s clear by the end of the book who she likes more, (if you’ve read my review for Red Queen you know who I ship, but let’s leave that to the book talk).

By the near end of the book we see Mare making a deal,of course it comes at a price, (All my OUAT fans know this far too well).

This book has left me with a mixture of emotions but I am a lot more anxious now then ever to see what happens next!

 

The book can be bought; on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Book – A -Million and most places where books and e-books are sold. Book three King’s Cage will be out February 7, 2017 so make sure you pre-order your copy!

Till next time loves xoxo

*DISCLAIMER* I did purchase this book with my own money for my personal library.

Leave a Reply

