Cinder Book Talk

Cinder is a fairytale retelling written by Marissa Meyer. If you’ve read my review already then you already have a brief idea of what the story is about but now let’s really talk about it.

Writing Style

Just like in anime the last names are mentioned first. I liked that Meyer did that and how she wrote the book, from beginning to end she has the ability to really keep your attention from page one! That is a talent not every writer has. It was really interesting to see who she made subtle connections with the original story, like Cinder losing her leg and not her shoe when running down the palace stairs. Or the orange car being her pumpkin carriage. It wasn’t always easy to spot but I think that’s what makes it such a good retelling that it’s not the norm.

 

Plot Twists 

The fact that Letumosis was originally from the Moon AND Lunars carry the disease. That was definitely not expected. Leanna having the cure for it, now that I wasn’t too surprised about. Cinder being Princess Selene also not such a big surprise. I knew it so long before it was revealed but it was still satisfying to hear. Kai agreeing to marry Queen Levanna, now that was what I was in totally shock about. I get it, you want to save your people and stop and impending war, but, you have a lot more to lose from marrying her than you would gain.

We all know that in the original, Cinderella wasn’t exactly close with her step sisters, but Cinder is extremely close to Peony. I wasn’t sure what to expect when Cinder got her hands on the cure. I honestly had hope that she wouldn’t die. Only a few seconds too late. That is the point were a lot changes in the story. Yet another welcomed surprised to the plot, that fact that Cinder being part machine is what helps her see through Levanna’s glamour.

The ability to see through lies is always a good skill to have especially in this case.

 

Love Interests 

Prince Charming, now maybe Kai might be charming but he is in no sense of the word a Prince (at least anymore). More like King Charming but that doesn’t sound as clever. This is one of the many reasons that I love this book, it wasn’t a total cliché. Don’t get me wrong I like a good cliché every once in a while when done right. It wasn’t exactly love at first sight and Cinder(ella) wasn’t aware that she was totally beautiful and had real insecurities. That made her character all the more relatable for me. If that wasn’t enough, these two as a couple are the most sweetest and most awkward pair and I LOVE it. I also love that we have Iko there tease her about him every chance she gets.

An added bonus that he’s in love with the (true) heir to the Lunar throne. Let’s just say that this series will get a whole lot more interesting when he finds out who she really is.

 

War 

To start an entire world…or maybe in this case galactic war over one girl is a bit…ludicrous. Ok A LOT . The members of the Eastern Common Wealth Council should have seen it coming when they had the images of those creatures on the Moon. They should have known they couldn’t trust her the woman is insane. She killed her family for a crown and hides from mirrors, doesn’t seem that mentally stable to me.

 

See you at the next book!

Till next time loves…

*DISCLAIMER* I did purchase this book with my own money for my personal library.

 

 

Leave a Reply

